of South Alabama

1211 Main St., Daphne, AL 36526

Phone: 251-626-1915

Hours: Mon-Thurs ~ 9am - 3pm

Transformed lives

Constitutional Division & Committees

These are committees or commissions required by the Book of Order of the Presbyterian Church, USA. These three committees are responsible for overseeing and partnering with Ruling Elders, Ministers, Candidates for Ministry and Sessions. They are responsible for ensuring ministry is done in a decent and orderly manner, seeking God’s guidance and direction in order to transform lives and transform churches in hopes of a transformed world.

The Committee on Ministry works with ministers and churches (especially churches without pastors) in the areas of ministerial relations, vacancies, supply preachers, mission and ministry of the congregation, oversight of ministers, educators and CLPs, etc.

  • Chairperson: Rev. Anna Fulmer Duke, Spring Hill, Mobile
  • Rev. Johnathon Wallace, First Presbyterian, Foley
  • Dr. Larry Kirkland, Evergreen, Dothan
  • Mary Clark, Providence Presbyterian, Mobile
  • Ginny Granade, First Presbyterian, Bay Minette
  • Nick Olson, First Presbyterian, Grand Bay
  • Bo Perry, Government Street Presbyterian, Mobile
  • Rev. Julia Simmons, Grace Presbyterian, Mobile
  • Buddy Wax, Evergreen Presbyterian, Dothan
  • Rev. Al Thompson, (ex officio), Stated Clerk

The Committee on Preparation For Ministry recommends candidates for the Ministry of Word and Sacrament to the Presbytery and oversees their time of inquiry and candidacy and prepares them for ordination. Also, recommends to the Presbytery qualified Commissioned Ruling Elders (CRE’s) and oversees their preparation for ministry in this capacity.

  • Dick Allen, First Presbyterian, Gulf Shores
  • Don Aspray, Swift Presbyterian, Foley
  • Rev. Sarah Erickson, Columbia Theological Seminary
  • Rev. Joe Johnson, Evergreen Presbyterian, Dothan - Chairperson
  • Rev. Chris Peters, Trinity Presbyterian, Fairhope
  • Rev. Al Thompson, (ex officio) - Stated Clerk

Information on becoming an Enquirer can be found on this page of our website:

How to Become an Enquirer PDF

The Permanent Judicial Commission has minimal responsibilities unless there is a judicial case brought before the Presbytery. Other than that responsibility, it makes recommendations regarding amendments to the Book of Order or the Book of Confessions to the Presbytery.

  • Rev. Chris Bullock, Central Presbyterian, Mobile
  • Rev. Keith Cardwell, Swift Presbyterian, Foley
  • Fred Granade, First Presbyterian Church, Bay Minette
  • Lacie Maynard, First Presbyterian, Foley
  • Bo Perry, Government Street, Mobile
  • Rev. Julian Walthall, Honorably Retired, Moderator
  • Rev. Buz Wilcoxon, Spring Hill Presbyterian, Mobile
  • Karen Davies, Trinity Presbyterian, Fairhope
  • Rev. Al Thompson, (ex officio), Stated Clerk